dying to self

11 Jan

Sometimes I wonder what I was really like back when I was single, and had little to no real responsibility in my life. I had no one to care for except myself, I spent hours alone, and spent my money on myself. As my joke goes with the mr…I did what I wanted, when I wanted, how I wanted.

It wasn’t until I was married that I started to more easily notice the sin in my life. When my life was joined with my husbands is when my sin started to come out…or maybe just when I started to notice it more. It’s as if when we first got married, we are both rough around our edges, jagged in our selfishness and stiff and stuck in our fleshly ways. God uses this relationship of man and wife to sand us down, smooth us out to be more like Jesus. God is glorified through our marriage as we die to ourselves in learning to love God and love each other, serve each other and help each other.

And when Lucia was born I began to have to die to myself even more, mostly in a physical way. Little ways of sacrifice, like sacrificing my sleep to wake up and feed her, and sacrificing time with the mr. to care for her needs. And I love taking care of her, and being her momma, loving her, but repeatedly I have to die to my own wants. At this stage it’s mostly physical things I have to sacrifice, but I just know that in the very near future it will be more. It will grow to be lying down my selfishness, my frustrations, my desire for other things, all to learn how God wants me to be a godly wife, a better momma, and how to grow as a follower of Jesus.

I tell you the truth, unless a kernel of wheat falls to the ground and dies, it remains only a single seed. But if it dies, it produces many seeds
John 12:24
niv

And we, who with unveiled faces all reflect the Lord’s glory, are being transformed into his likeness with ever-increasing glory, which comes from the Lord, who is the Spirit.
2 Corinthians 3:18
niv

All of us! Nothing between us and God, our faces shining with the brightness of his face. And so we are transfigured much like the Messiah, our lives gradually becoming brighter and more beautiful as God enters our lives and we become like him
2 Corinthians 3:18
the message

photo9

Leave a Reply

